Blue Hair and Mental Wellness

Hi.  I was on a late flight last week working a tough crossword.  If I can’t be physically moving, might as well keep mentally fresh.

While changing planes at O’Hare, I went to the restroom.  As I was washing my hands, I happened to look in the mirror.  I screamed as did the woman next to me.  Apparently, my blue pen had leaked all over my hands.  For some reason, probably thoughtfully pondering a word choice, I had run my left hand through my hair…over and over again.  The hair on the left side of my head was as blue as the bluest sky.

I didn’t arrive at my hotel in the DC area until about 2am.  Except for the woman in the restroom, no one said a word.  Not my seatmates on the next flight, the flight attendent, the rental car guy, the hotel receptionist…no one.  The next morning, it would not come out and I gave my talk to a distinguished group of people…with my blue hair and little business suit.  Apparently, the smurf look is quite acceptable.

Anyone else have any travel stories to share?

Leave a comment